Skip to main content

Make Sleeping Cool Again

I still can't begin to understand how people manage to function off of 2-3 hours of sleep every night. And yet, everyone seems to be doing it? There's no doubt that we've turned it into some crazy competition. I'm already prepared to walk in tomorrow and hear the following conversation:

"oh my godddddd. i literally stayed up until midnight to finish that blog post."

"that means you basically got 6 hours of sleep. ugh you're so luckyyyyy. i stayed up till 3."

So, not only are we invalidating others' problems, but we are also creating a culture that encourages others to make unhealthy choices for bragging rights. It's not the only thing we do it for either:

"you wrote your ap seminar paper three days before it was due? i did mine the literal day it was due."

"i can't believe you drive 50 in a 45. like you gotta drive 65 at least!"


This isn't to say that I'm not guilty of the exact same things, but I'm starting the petition now for us to stop doing this. Not only is it severely annoying, but it's genuinely toxic. In fact, research is saying that not sleeping enough can have the same effects as being drunk. Plus, we are 19% less productive when sleep-deprived, causing us to stay up later, and repeat a seemingly never-ending cycle. 

Instead, we can get a little more sleep, allowing us to get things done faster and have so much more energy doing it. And I know it's not the easiest, we seem to be doing every extracurricular on the planet and every AP class our school has to offer, but if we create a less sleep-hating environment, we can be both more productive and healthier overall.

If you didn't get enough sleep last night, it's okay, it happens, but bragging about it is not getting you anywhere. Most importantly, let's not make anyone feel bad for getting the sleep they need, and let's make sure sleeping more than others isn't seen as a negative thing.

My Weekend (since I’m ALWAYS busy):
- Troy Daze (7/10 because they got rid of the zipper?)
- My friend’s sweet 16 (9/10 because it started at 7:30 in the MORNING)
- Game night at my cousin’s house (8/10 because I became the designated babysitter)
- Sleepover with my friends (10/10, much needed)
- Instructor training (7/10 because the warm-up killed me)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

attempting to plan out my life

I can't lie - I don't know how likely I am to really come back to this list. Regardless, here are the books I hope I read in the next ten years: 2026 - The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X and Alex Haley I'll be honest - my dad has been begging me to read this for the last few years, and I think it's finally time I listen. This will be my first year of college, meaning it's time to really get educated beyond just the subdued version of history I am exposed to at school. Especially because I will be spending so much time in Detroit during my freshman year, I think it is imperative that I learn about black history and its ties to the city. 2027 - American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins I've heard a lot about the life-changing nature of this novel, and by 2027, I truly think this issue will be a prominent focus in American politics, culture, and society. When I was a freshman, I vaguely remember listening to a podcast episode featuring Cummins during a long drive,...

The Best Sapphic Artists (in my professional opinion)

Since we read "The Three Girls" this week, a very queer-coded piece, I made a list of my favorite sapphic artists: 5) Chappell Roan It seems impossible to compile a list of sapphic artists without including Chappell Roan. After her viral Coachella performance in April this year and her subsequent release of "Good Luck, Babe!" Chappell seems to have come out of nowhere. She is known for her love of drag and won Best New Artist at the VMAs. In some ways, she reminds me of the Marilyn Monroe we studied in "The Three Girls," especially in her desire to escape fame in some moments. However, she is also the opposite, incredibly vocal about her queer identity in every aspect of her life. I can't list her as my favorite, simply because I have not listened to her music enough, especially because she is so new to the spotlight. However, I absolutely love her unapologetic nature and can't wait to see what she does next! 4) LYVIA LYVIA is definitely the smalle...

race plays a role

Elham: "They like English accent French accent not your accent not my accent" This line stuck with me as I read the play, especially when you mentioned your inability to relate to it because you are two generations deep, almost fully assimilated into "American" culture. I am also 2 generations deep, a second-generation American. So why is my experience different? It's because: - The sub spells my name when calling attendance instead of attempting to say it. - My first-grade teacher refused to believe I celebrated Thanksgiving. - No history textbook has a picture of someone like me. It's because I've had the following conversation more times than I can count: Them: "Where are you from?" Me: I live in Michigan, I'm American. Them: "No, where are you really from?" And as much as I feel the urge to respond passive-aggressively, I’ve come to realize that these questions often come from kind, well-meaning people who are simply curious. ...